On the Road Again!

November 24, 2008

The girls and I are back in the Midwest. Since Alyssa was born in April, we’ve made 5 trips to the IL/MO/KS area. Wow. It’s a lot of work – packing, managing the girls in the airport and on the plane, getting them to sleep in new places, being away from Daddy – but we have fun (except the being away from Daddy part). Good times, with good friends and family!

Yesterday morning Matt dropped us off at the airport and we flew to STL. We were able to meet up with Kate and Ryan at Sweet Tomatoes for lunch and see their new house in Affton. After a few potty breaks along the way, we arrived in Pawnee.

Grace has been excited to come. She’s been talking about everyone she’ll get to see. Riding a blue airplane. And, seeing Minima and Bapa’s Christmas tree!!!

It finally feels like the holiday season to me. Christmas decorations are surrounding me and the temperature outside is freaking cold!!! After bundeling the girls up just to run inside Mickey D’s for a bathroom stop, I was quickly reminded why I love living in a warmer climate!! A brief taste of the cold weather is a nice change of pace, but I’m already missing the 70 degree weather that Matt is enjoying this week! Last night I sat in the recliner, snuggling with a heated blanket, and eating soup just trying to get warm. It’s amazing how quickly your blood thins!

I’ll try to give updates these next two week on our travels. I have to apologize for no pictures, but I’ll post them when we return home.

2 Responses to “On the Road Again!”

  1. Kate said

    LOL…your new internal thermostat cracks me up.

  2. Zac and Nic said

    welcome to Illinois! I remember swimming at our apartment pool on December 5th, 2002 in Texas. It was fascinating to me that I was swimming in December!

Leave a comment